British Swimming Release Dublin 2018 Euros Squad

Photo: onEdition

Words by Colette Carr

After an enjoyable and successful BPSIM in Sheffield last weekend for British Swimming they have unveiled their 24-swimmer strong squad for this summer’s European Championships across the Irish Sea in Dublin.

Paralympic heroes including Ellie Simmonds, Bethany Firth, Ollie Hynd, Ellie Robinson and Hannah Russell will hop on the short flight leading the line with eight debutants also heading to the Irish capital.

The Championships, that will take place from 13-19 August in Dublin’s National Aquatic Centre in Ireland’s first ever major international para sport event.

More than 550 swimmers from 37 countries will dive into the competition, with the British contingency relishing the opportunity of more major silverwear.

The squad was selected following the British Para-Swimming International Meet 2018 in the home leg of the World Para Swimming Series where the Brits racked up more than 20 podium places.

Head Coach Rob Aubry shared his optimism ahead of the Euros and praised the home nation swimmers’ efforts at Ponds Forge, saying: “We have seen some excellent performances at this weekend’s British Para-Swimming International Meet. It has shown us that we have many great para swimmers in this country who can hold their own against, and beat, some of the World’s best.

“We set competitive selection times deliberately to bring out the best in our swimmers and test what they can do in the pressure of the arena, and many rose to that challenge.

“The Europeans will be a challenging meet but I’m certain we have selected the right swimmers for the job. I’m delighted that eight swimmers will be making their debut for the British senior team.”

The full squad:

Jessica-Jane Applegate (UEA Norwich)

Jordan Catchpole (UEA Norwich)

Stephen Clegg (City of Sunderland ASC)

Louise Fiddes (Hatfield)

Bethany Firth (ARDS SC)

Grace Harvey (National Performance Centre Manchester)

Tom Hamer (National Performance Centre Manchester)

Ollie Hynd (Nova Centurion)

Mikey Jones (National Performance Centre Manchester)

Tully Kearney (COMAST)

Jacob Leach (Cockermouth SC)

Conner Morrison (University of Aberdeen Performance)

Andrew Mullen (City of Glasgow)

Zara Mullooly (Guildford City Swimming Club)

Scott Quin (Warrender Baths Club)

Rebecca Redfern (Worcester Swimming Club)

Megan Richter (Orion)

Ellie Robinson (Northampton SC)

Hannah Russell (COMAST/ National Performance Centre Manchester)

Toni Shaw (University of Aberdeen Performance)

Ellie Simmonds (Camden Swiss Cottage SC)

Maisie Summers-Newton (Northampton SC)

Alice Tai (National Performance Centre Manchester)

Lewis White (City of Derby)