Leicester Tigers well represented at local Quad Nations


Local side Leicester Tigers will be well represented next month when the Leicester Arena hosts the inaugural wheelchair rugby Quad Nations tournament.

Great Britain Wheelchair Rugby announced their 12-player squad yesterday including Tigers’ Muhammad Islam, Gavin Walker, Nick Cummins and Jamie Stead for the competition from 9-11 March.

Rio Paralympian Chris Ryan is to captain the team, while Aaron Phipps returns to the squad following his absence since London 2012.

The tournament sees GB welcome the top three nations from around the globe to their home turf, facing Australia, Japan and the USA on the Leicester court.

Great Britain Wheelchair Rugby Chief Executive David Pond said: “I am really excited about this selection and the opportunity to play Australia, USA and Japan.

“This is just the challenge we need ahead of the World Championships in Australia this summer. The welcome and support we are getting from Leicester is humbling and I am hugely grateful to all of our partners who are supporting the event.”

Team GB:
Jonathan Coggan
Muhammad Islam
Ryan Cowling
Myles Pearson
Nicholas Cummins
Gavin Walker
Chris Ryan (Captain)
Ayaz Bhuta
Jamie Stead
James Roberts
Aaron Phipps
Stuart Robinson