Paralympians announced for Heritage Flame Ceremony

British Paralympic Association

Paralympians Ali Jawad and Sophie Christiansen CBE to take centre stage as official torchbearers for this year’s Paralympic Heritage Flame Lighting Ceremony, ‘Spirit of Endeavour’. The Ceremony will take place on 2 March at Stoke Mandeville Stadium, as part of the lead-up to the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.

Lighting eight flames over eight days, the first flame will be ignited at the birthplace of the Paralympic movement at Stoke Mandeville then will continue on its journey to South Korea. The relay’s motto is “Let Everyone Shine” and embodies the Paralympic spirit of creating infinite possibilities and outcomes by incorporating the infinity symbol (∞) in the form of the number ‘8’ throughout the journey.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on Channel 4 News at 7.45pm on 2 March.